“The Battle of Quatre Bras” by Mike Robinson

51FW2P4KXBL__SL500_AA240_

It has been said that had the Battle of Waterloo not immediately followed, then the Battle of Quatre Bras would be more famous than it is, and the story of the exploits, valor, and gallantry displayed there would be much more well known. Mike Robinson attempts to address this huge lack in historical memory in his book, The Battle of Quatre Bras, published by the History Press. This is the first English language account that focuses entirely on the Battle of Quatre Bras.

The Battle of Quatre Bras was fought on June 16th, 1815, two days before the famous Battle of Waterloo. It pitted Napoleon Bonaparte’s left wing of the French Armee du Nord, under the command of Marshall Michel Ney, against the Anglo-Dutch army (along with Brunswickers and others) under the command of the Duke of Wellington. The crossroads at Quatre Bras was of strategic importance because the controlling side could move troop along the Nivelles-Namur road towards the French and Prussian armies at the Battle of Ligny, which was taking place on the same date. If Wellington had been able to combine with the Prussians, the Allied army would have been larger than the French. By the end of the day, the battle was a tactical draw. Wellington held the crossroads, but had not been able to join the Prussians, who were forced to withdraw, and Ney had not captured the crossroads. With the Prussian withdrawal to Wavre, Wellington was obliged to withdraw towards Brussels, and would face Napoleon’s recombined forces at Waterloo.

 Robinson has approached his research and his book from the Allied point of view. At first, this may be off-putting to some, but with the wealth of information here, it was a logical decision. In fact, the omission of information from the French point of view adds to the literary value of the book. It gives the impression of a thriller, and I found myself turning page after page following along as the raw and the veteran troops marched towards the sound of the guns, and the unknown. I could relate to the personal letters full of fear of the unknown more because the French were left as an unknown, and seemed similarly ominous and mysterious to me as the reader. This drew me further into the story, and changed what could have easily been a dry piece of reference into a compelling account of the lives of the Allied soldiers on the day of battle. Though some may criticize this point of view, I’m not going to criticize the book for what its not, because I enjoyed it so much for what it is- an amazing and well written story of heroism,cowardice, brilliance, and folly on a subject that I was only vaguely and generally familiar with before.

 This book also challenged my preconceived notions of the performance of the Dutch and Brunswick troops, and more especially their leaders, during the battle. Through Robinson’s research and writing, one can see the insight and quick thinking of the Dutch commanders who first engaged at the crossroads, and the bravery of the soldiers who served under them.

 The story is driven through first-time published personal accounts from soldiers and civilians, which gave yet another unknown perspective for me, and I found myself surprised at how well I could relate to these people. It makes the entire battle much more personal and compelling, and allowed me to be caught up in the mystery of “what will happen next”, regardless of the fact that I knew the outcome of the battle. In the end, this is where Robinson succeeds the most- by turning the known into something surprising, and changing a simple historical record into a page-turning thriller.

 The book is also filled with maps and topographical views of the battlefield and both contemporary and modern views of the area, which, along with the details of tactics, troops, and a good overview of who was where and when, should please the experts, while allowing the intense and personal human story of the battle to draw in the generalist and novice.

I finished my first read of this book about a week ago, and have started a second reading. There is so much information here, that I need another reading to take it all in, and because the writing is so well done, it’s just a pleasure to do so.

 The Battle of Quatre Bras is available for U.S. customers at Amazon.com, along with other sellers, and currently is priced starting at $33.17 there.

6 thoughts on ““The Battle of Quatre Bras” by Mike Robinson

  1. I just ordered mine about a week ago. I am looking forward to reading this book. I have a few questions though… Does the book go in depth on the fighting as I really know very little about the unit to unit fighting, which I would like to learn more about. Also is there any french voice in the book at all?

    Thanks Mike

    • Hey Mike

      It does go into quite a bit of detail on the fighting, but not from the point of view of a tactician. This definately isn’t a unit tactics reference. It come down as more of a story, in the vein of Catton, Foote, or Ambrose. It’s a narrative view more than anything else.

      There really isn’t a French voice, which again is quite similar to Bruce Catton’s books on the Army of the Potomac. The focus is on Wellington’s army, and their experiences. The French are an instigator of the action taking place, and a force that is reacted to, without going into detail as to why they were doing what they were doing.

      I guess the best way to put it is, this is not s reference book. It’s a historical narrative of one group of people, and the events that occured to them, and how they dealt with those events. What fascinated me so much was it is a story that I knew very little about, and so it was all fresh and interesting.

  2. Just started reading today and I enjoy the book so far. It is interesting how they portray Prince of Orange as really trying to figure out hte situation in the beginning before the battle. I also thought Prince of Orange as being not a great military leader, but at least from what I have read so far he did a decent job before the battle to figure out where the French were and to concentrate his troops. Also I like how the author does not tell you much about the French as you feel like they are a shadowy figure that little is known about until they attack.

    Will keep reading! Great book so far!

    • Mike-

      Glad you’re enjoying it. Let me know what you think once you’ve finished.

      I agree about the Prince of Orange. It’s a surpising take, but it seems very well documented through actions and contemporary opinions cited in the book. It made me rethink my notion of him.

  3. Scott
    Just bought the book because of your recommendation. I am hoping this will help to learn more about the Division I am painting for the 195th anniversary. Letting Kris borrow the book after I am done.
    Thanks,
    Rob

    • Hey Rob,

      I think you’re going to enjoy it. There should be some great stuff for you about that division. And it will definately give you a good feel for how the battle played out.

      -Scott

Leave a Reply

