Hussarbob’s NMM Tutorial

Hussarbob has released a great tutorial on his website, Hussarbob Miniatures Gallery. For those of you who haven’t visited Hussarbob’s website, I highly recommend that you do so. He is one of my favorite painters, especially with his Napoleonics. He uses a very vibrant style, with clean, bright colors and good sharp contrasts all blended together very realistically. You won’t find any “cartoony” layering here (don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against that style at all…in fact, I think its incredibly effective for armies). Hussarbob uses a very smooth blend/feather technique that creates visually stunning and yet quite realistic figures.

One of the keys to his style, and one I have envied for quite some time, is his Non-Metal Metallics method of painting metal areas. Though I attempted to emulate this, my efforts were pretty pathetic, to say the least. But now Hussarbob has posted a very simple and informative tutorial on his approach to NMM. And the best part? It’s amazingly accessible. It’s pretty easy to see, with the explanations, what he’s doing, how he’s doing it, and what paints he’s using. It’s really one of the better technique explanations I’ve read, and I can wait to try it out myself.

Even if you aren’t interested in the tutorial, Hussarbob Miniatures Gallery is still a great site to check out. The gallery is fantastic.

The tutorial can be found by clicking the link on the left hand side of Hussarbob’s Home Page.

Leave a Reply

