David Imrie’s Army Painter Technique

David Imrie at Saxon Dog was kind enough to take some time out of his day to answer a few question about his fantastic technique for painting with Army Painter Quickshade.

David Imrie's Bluecoats

I met David on the Steve Dean Forums, and was blown away by the amazing quality of his unit-sized painting, even more so when I found out that using Army Painter products was the key to his painting technique. And him being nice enough to help me out in attempting the same style was just the beginning of his generosity…he also posted some of the Q&A on his website. I thought I would do the same-

Me) Do you use the Army Painter colored spray primers at all, such as the blue or green?

 David) Sometimes, but mostly a black undercoat. Then block in first colour.

 Me) Which tones of Army Painter Quickshade do you use? Do you use different tones depending on the main colors of your figure, or just stick with one?

 David) I use the strong tone, which is the middle one. I leave the lid off for a day to get it to thicken up a little (if needed) if it’s too thin it doesn’t give the right effect. You need it to be sort of a runny brown colour.

 Me) When Army Painter describes their “splash-on” technique, it looks like they really goop on the Quickshade and then clean up the excessive pools. Do you do this, or brush it on more like a coat of paint or a glaze?

 David) I brush on as a glaze removing the extra stuff with the brush onto a paper towel. I try not to let it pool in the wrong area. You need to work fast. You get used to it.

 Me) You mention that you highlight after the shade dries. Do you spray on the matte varnish first, and then highlight?

 David) I leave it to dry and then highlight over the dip. I then matte varnish.

 Me) Is your highlighting a thinned down, just touching the highest points technique, or is it closer to repainting all the raised areas? Do you use the original color, or a lighter color for those highlights?

David Imrie's Tiller's Regiment

David) This is the hardest question to answer. I just re-paint the raised areas where the natural highlight should be with the same colour. Or a lighter colour…it’s where the art comes back in to it. I use my eye to see what looks good.

The result of all of this is a wonderful, pleasing painting style, with rich color tones and a very natural look. I’ve found that it’s only slightly faster that a standard 3-step painting process. but it’s alot of fun to paint this way, and this finished miniatures have a distinct style that looks pleasing on both the game table and on display. My first attempt can be found in the post previous to this one, and also in the English Civil War Gallery. Even if it’s not a technique you want to try yourself, I highly recommend pointing your browser to Saxon Dog for a load on inspiration and information.

Leave a Reply

