28mm French 11ème Régiment de Cuirassiers

Another new post of some older painting. I actually finished these around the end of September, but didn’t get around to basing them until this week. They’re based for 28mm Lasalle. Eventually, I’ll find the time to start painting something new again.

This was another attempt at David Imrie’s style of painting, which I really enjoy, both in process and in results. Basically base coating all the colors, glazing with Army Painter Strong Tone, and then highlighting up from there. It gives a nice, dramatic look with really pleasant contrasts, which I think will look really nice on the gaming table. Though it’s not much faster than my standard 3 layer painting for units, it’s simpler, and just alot of fun. And there’s no reason why more time couldn’t be spent adding even more detail and highlight…I just made myself stop so that I could see how effective this could be in painting, in a reasonable time, my mountain of 1815 French.  I’ve pretty much concluded that this will be my approach so that I can field a 28mm Lasalle army sometime before the end of the next decade 🙂

These are 28mm Perry Miniatures metals, and hands-down some of my favorite sculpts of theirs.

10 thoughts on “28mm French 11ème Régiment de Cuirassiers

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention 28mm French 11ème Régiment de Cuirassiers « DJoker's Gaming Page -- Topsy.com

  2. Dear Sir,

    I have just arrived in the world of 28mm figure painting,and i must say i love it. My wife has purchased for me a box of French Caribiniers from Perry Brothers. Please could you give me some advice on the technique that you use regarding the washes and the highlighting technique. I would really like to pursue this hobby as i find it good for my blood pressure!!!!!!

    Thank you in advance Sir for the time to reply to this correspondance.

    Kind Regards

    Lee

  3. Dear Sir,
    I hope that you had a great christams and new year. Thank you for the reply, i have been experimenting with a similar technique using Games work shop washes and then highlighting after with the relevant shades. Not bad but look forward to a more indepth explanation of your technique. I have also got the Perry Hussars so any advice would be greatly recieved. Thank you for your continued support and time taken to reply to my correspondance.

    The kindest regards

    Lee

  4. Scott,

    Your painting is beautiful, I love your work!

    I am working on some Napoleonic Line Infantry from Perry and I had a quick question about your base flocking (if you don’t mind my asking): What are you using for the low level grass? I see that you have Silfor tufts, but what is the stuff that you are using for the ground? I see it sprinkled a little bit on the Cuirassiers’ base, but I can’t tell what it is.

    Thanks again for your inspiring work! Your Ney diorama is outstanding.

    Best regards,

    Jeff

    • Hi Jeff

      Thanks for the comment. The basing for these miniatures, as well as the French line, came about from an utter sense of laziness. And yet it turned out to be my favorite way to flock bases, and what I think gives a very nice result.

      The main ingredient? Dirt from my back yard. I collect it q bowl, crush it up as much as possible with the back of a screwdriver, but allowing the small rocks and sticks, etc, to remain, and then add Summer Blend flock from Scenic Express. I literally goop on a thick, heavy layer of of Burnt Umber paint, the kind you get at art supply stores in a big tube, onto the bases (this is after attaching the miniatures to the base), and the dip the whole thing into the dirt/flock mix, tap off the excess, then sprinkle more mix on it, tap it off again, then blow on each edge to get the flock to somewhat stand. After it dries, I add the sulfur tufts. Fast, easy, and a nice, realistic look.

      -Scott

  5. great job i am doing 1/32 scale french carabiniers …how did you get the white metal for the helmets? tried mixing silver and white but not very good
    tks

  6. Hi,
    I have just started painting up some Perry’s French cuirrasiers, what colour is best to base coat them in? I normally use black but the blue Im using (Vallejo dark prussian blue) Im having difficulty in seeing it on the figure. Would I be better base coating in white?

    Dave

    • Hi David

      I’ve used (and still use) both black and white. The advantage to black is, of course, that when you’re painting a large number of figures, black is more forgiving of errors or small missed spots. But white most definitely lends itself to brighter, sharper colors. I would suggest either trying white to brighten up your Prussian Blue, or sticking with black, but making sure your highlights over the Prussian Blue are light enough that the contrast shows well.

      -Scott

Leave a Reply

