Work in Progess- French Line for “Waterloo”

So I’ve shifted the focus of my continuous Napoleonic French project to the new “Waterloo” rule set. This means I need to do some rebasing. And quite a bit more painting. “Waterloo” battalions are quite a bit larger than what I was dealing with in “Shako II” or even “Lasalle”, so I have line infantry that I’m going to need to paint.The first step though was to base/rebase some of the miniatures I already have painted.

The basing in “Waterloo” is pretty flexible. For infantry we’ve decided to go with the 20mmx20mm per figure convention that’s common in many games. 6 figures will make up a company (which is a Waterloo game term, not the representation of a military company).These are the figures for the battalion’s “command company”. The bases are from Warlord Games (had a bunch lying around) with magnets from Litko attached to the bottom-

I went ahead and made up 6 60mmx40mm trays for the battalion, which will hold the maximum 36 figures when all options are taken. The trays are GW’s Modular Movement Trays, with a magnetic base attached to hold the figures in place.-

Here’s the command company ion its tray. I like the flexibility of individually basing each figure, because it allows me to swap out figures as needed, depending on which options I want for the battalion (a sapper, a mounted commander, etc)-

And this is the whole battalion in its trays, in march-attack formation-

The next step will be flocking all the bases, painting the poms on each figure to match up to the correct company, and possibly flocking the top-most part of the trays.

Light infantry is on the same sized tray/base, but using 3-4 figures instead of 6. For me, basing figures on their own 20mmx20mm base, I’ll put 3 figures and 3 blank, flocked bases on the tray.

4 thoughts on “Work in Progess- French Line for “Waterloo”

  1. Kind of a combination. Depending on the unit type, each stand has a number of wounds it can take. In the case of regular infantry, that’s 6 wounds it can take. Once you hit six, you remove a “company”, which is one stand. Light infantry can generally take 4 hits. You use a marker or casualty figures to denote the number of wounds on the battalion.

    -Scott

  2. you have an inspiring collection, enough to get me thinking about Naps again, but i’m not convinced a casualtly removal ruleset is the way to go, or even has longevity these days, i’m for big bases and vignettes. Obviously its your call, but ,surely the wear and tear on those lovely figures alone makes this a daunting approach. As always, your toys, your rules :o)

    • I understand. But a lot of games do still remove stands of units, if not individual figures, and Waterloo doesn’t remove individual figures for casualties either.

      The way I’m basing is just one option. I could have made large bases with 6 permanently attached figures.

      The 2 main reasons I’m basing this way is 1) flexibility…I can swap figures out based on what I want to put on the table…a light battalion can be used as such, with 3 figures per stand, or as a line battalion, as many French light battalions were, with 6 figures per stand, for example, and 2) the ability to use the figures in skirmish games as well as other large base games where I can just arrange the miniatures on an appropriate sized stand.

      All that being said though, you have a point, and this is the only game I have right now that I’m basing figures individually for. I think in this 1 case it’ll work. And if not, well, it’s back to rebasing heheh.

      -Scott

Leave a Reply

