Work in Progress- French 7th Hussars for “Waterloo”

Back to working on my “Waterloo” units for awhile.I decided to switch it up a bit, and work on a squadron of the 7th Hussars. I started painting 2 as a color test. I wanted to use more “earth-tone” colors, and so went with a red-brown and an olive for the greens and reds. I think these colors will work very well with the AP glaze, and then I’ll highlight up to brighter tones.

I plan on modeling full squadrons from the “Waterloo” rules, which means a unit of 12 figures. I have enough hussars to do 3 full squadrons, and I’m trying to decide if I should do squadrons from different regiments or do the whole 7th Hussars. I’m leaning towards doing the full regiment…I think that would look pretty cool on the game table.

These two figures are my first experiment with Army Painter “Dark Tone”, and I have to say I REALLY like it. Ibrushed it onto the dark brown and black areas, and then used “Strong Tone” brushed onto everything else. The blacker “Dark Tone” really brings out the definition in the horse much better, and should make a really good base to highlight from.

-Scott

 

Edit- After taking another look at the photos I have to say-  Okay, forget the colors or the AP shades or whatever…the amazing thing is that I somehow managed to paint two number “7”s that look almost alike! That will probably never happen again haha!

3 thoughts on “Work in Progress- French 7th Hussars for “Waterloo”

  1. It would be awesome if you could do a step by step so I can shamelessly steal your technique, lol.

    As usual, your work is exceptional and I look forward to the finished product!

    • I might do just that. I started some French line tonight…I’ll try to remember to take a few step by step photos.

      -Scott

Leave a Reply

