Two New Blogs

I just want to take a moment to point out links to the blogs of two of my good friends who have finally taken they’re historical, wargaming, and painting talents online. 

The first is a new blog by my good friend Scott S., called Marshal Murat’s Closet. Scott is a brilliant historian and incredible miniature painter, and also the future victim of my slowly goring 28mm Napoleonic French division. His blog focuses mainly, though not exclusively, on the building of his Napoleonic British Army and Napoleonic wargaming and history, and though it’s only been around since the start of March, he already has a number of very good articles.

The second is by another good friend, Nick. His blog is called Little Nicky’s Gameroom, and is his general miniature gaming blog. His focus at the moment is the game “Force on Force”, and the terrain and figures he has put together so far are fantastic. He has some great articles, and lots of great photos of his figures, terrain, and games.

I highly recommend visiting both sites.

-Scott

5 thoughts on “Two New Blogs

    • No problem at all! When you do the review, put another reply in on this article so I know to go read it 🙂

      -Scott

  1. Very simple:

    The pictures of the miniatues I see are beautiful, I am more of a hack painter myself. But to get to the heart of the matter.

    I am a 50 plus year old woman that enjoys miniature gaming. I truly enjoy getting together talking history and rolling dice and generally enjoying the social aspect of gaming (please forgive my spelling for I am engineer and there is no spell check).

    I am looking for somone interested in Gaming Napoleonics. My figures, such as they are, are based for Napoleon’s Battles. I even have copies of the first, and second and third editions of the game.

    I also enjoy gaming microarmor and world war 1 ships.

    If anyone else should be interested please feel free to contact me.

    I live on the outskirts of Denver near Aurora. I look forward to a reply

    Deborah
    303 956 4044

    • Hi Deborah!

      It sounds like you have a great mix of historical interests! I’m part of a game club called “League of Extraordinary Gamers”. I’m up in Arvada, but most of them are in Aurora. They used to meet at Attactix before it closed. Now you can usually find some of us on Sundays at Collectormania in Parker, and Wednesday nights at Troll Country, a new game store on Hampden. Some of us also hang out at Bonnie Brae Hobbies in Denver, and I’m often at Total Escape Games in Broomfield. We are even getting ready to do things in Colorado Springs at Gamer’s Haven.

      We have a very large group of people doing 15mm Napoleonics. They all started with Napoleon’s Battles as well. Generally, though we’ve been doing the rules “Lasalle” and the new ruleset, which is becoming very popular “Napoleon at War”. For 28mm Napoleonics, besides myself, there are about 6 of use slowly working on armies for the “Waterloo” rules.

      Our group actually does a ton of different games, genres, scales, systems…too many sometimes LOL. Flames of War, 15mm WWII, is huge. As is 15mm American Civil War rules “Regimental Fire and Fury”. We have some people who have huge fleets for WWI and II naval games, and a large number doing English Civil War/30 Years War in 28mm. Some people are doing Viking skirmishers “Saga” rules, some are working on WWI 28mm skirmish. Some do the GW games- Warhammer Fantasy, Warhammer 40k, and Lord of the Rings. Truly, if there is an genre to miniature game, pretty much someone is dabbling in it.

      My interest, personally, is studying and gaming the Napoleonic era. I also enjoy the American War of Independence, The Williamite Wars of the late 17th and early 18th century,and the American Civil War.

      More than anything else, though, we are a social group. For every group gaming at a store there is another group of us sitting at a table painting or assembling miniatures, and others just visiting and “talking shop”.

      You really should come to one of the game stores and hang out and meet some of the people there. I’m usually at Collectormania in Parker on Sundays, though this Sunday I’ll be at Total Escape Games in Broomfield, doing some painting and hanging out with a bunch of people playing Flames of War. Troll Country on Wednesday Nights is a great place to meet everyone…there’s usually a large turnout. Just ask where the “LEG” members are.

      You should visit and join our forum, if nothing else. Lots of good info there on what we’re doing- the link is-

      -Scott

Leave a Reply

